Friday, July 24, 2015

Book #Review: Commanded by Stacey Kennedy .@Stacey_Kennedy .@TastybookTours .@readloveswept

Book Title: Commanded ( Club Sin 6)
Author: Stacey Kennedy |WebsiteTwitterFacebook|
Publisher: LoveSwept (Random House)
Genre: Erotic Romance
Series/Standalone: Series
Format: ebook, 
Cost: $3.99
Pages: 195
How I got it: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Publisher
Publication Date: July 7th, 2015
Add To Goodreads
Club Sin comes alive once again in this decadent new romance from USA Today bestselling author Stacey Kennedy, perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey. A dedicated cop, Sawyer Quinn blows off steam by immersing himself in his role as a Master at the hottest club in Las Vegas. But when Sawyer goes after the perp who brutally beat his sister, he teams up with Chloe Nash, a sexy private investigator who awakens a sweet new need: to keep her to himself, away from the dungeon of Club Sin. Chloe is beautiful, smart, and too innocent for the BDSM lifestyle. Sawyer’s never wanted a woman like this before. Is her love worth swearing off the one thing that keeps him sane? There’s something different about Sawyer: a commanding strength that pulls Chloe into a vortex of heady desire. But when she learns about his double life as a Dom, she’s shocked—and afraid she could never complete him. Then he saves her life, and just like that, Chloe knows she will be able to give him anything he desires. She is his—wherever and however he wants to take her.
I both liked and disliked this story, and the dislike had more to do with a character's point of view which didn't seem to mesh with what had happened before he made that comment.  So his point of view made me lower the stars to three and a half instead of four.

I really liked the characters, especially Chloe, who was quick witted and smart, when faced with danger her reactions were all real and smart, she did what was necessary without trying to be a superhero, or any tstl (too stupid to live) moments.  I loved that she took a leap of faith in dating Sawyer because it gave us a really great story.

This story progressed really quickly, and although it was a part of a series it didn't feel like you had to have read the others to get the story and understand the characters.  Chloe and Sawyer met and felt an instant connection to each other, however Chloe was involved at the time and they didn't do anything about their attraction.  When the story starts, Sawyer is in need of a good private investigator to help find a criminal who is being hidden by everyone who should be turning him in.  Chloe is so happy to get to help, and not just because she wants to spend time with Sawyer, but especially because she learned even more from the victim than Sawyer had and this gave her an even greater need to help.  It was great to see how everyone rushed to help Sawyer when he needed it and the mystery unfolds quickly and is apart of the story without overwhelming it nor getting lost behind the romance that is also building.

I enjoyed reading the two characters confront the fact that they are from two different sexual experiences.  Chloe isn't a part of the lifestyle and Sawyer is a Dom, it was interesting to watch their relationship unfold, especially because of their two different desires.  Chloe didn't believe they could mesh and Sawyer did his best to show her how well they connected; and boy did they connect. I enjoyed how Sawyer was able to find a way to balance his need to be a Dominate and Chloe's non submissiveness.  It was great to see them bend BDSM to their lives and not feel the need to meet the preconceived notions of what it was.   This isn't a BDSM heavy book, it's mostly mentioned as something that gave Sawyer structure when coming out of the military, the couple however doesn't really engage in many scenes, it is however written in a way that lets you know that they would engage later in life as the relationship grows.

I liked the glimpses of previous characters and their relationships in progress.  I enjoyed that they learnt that they could also still remain friends even thought they may not share the same things all the time.

I disliked  Sawyer's attitude that submissive in a club aren't innocent or pure.  Lookie here sir having sexual experience and experimenting with your sex life doesn't make you unpure or not innocent.  It just didn't seem to mesh with what he had been thinking at the very beginning of the story.  It also didn't seem to fit because he is a Dom and a Master at a Club, and has been for years.  It felt too close to slut shaming when he was celebrating it earlier in the book.
Happy Reading and share your comments down below.

No comments:

Post a Comment