Tuesday, July 18, 2023

Book #Review: Resonance Surge by Nalini Singh #ResonanceSurge #NetGalley

Book Title: Resonance Surge Psy-Changeling Trinity Series Book 7
Author: Nalini Singh |WebsiteTwitterFacebook| Instagram| Bookbub | Goodreads
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series/Standalone: Psy-Changeling Trinity Series Book 7
Format: Kindle, Audiobook, Hardcover
Cost: $28.00
Pages: 432
How I got it: Advanced copy via Netgalley
Publication Date July 18, 2023
Where are the broken? That is the propulsive question that unleashes a world of secrets in New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s Resonance Surge . . .

StoneWater bears Pavel and Yakov Stepyrev have been a unit since birth, but now Pavel’s life is veering in a new direction, his heart held in the hands of Arwen Mercant, a Psy empath—and the only man who has ever brought Pavel to his knees.

This is it. A point of irrevocable change. For Pavel . . . for Arwen . . . for Yakov . . . and for another pair of twins whose bond has a far darker history.

A low-Gradient Psy, Theodora Marshall is considered worthless by everyone but her violently powerful twin, Pax. She is the sole person he trusts in their venomous family to investigate a hidden and terrible part of their family history—an unregistered rehabilitation Center established by their grandfather.

Places of unimaginable pain designed to psychically wipe minds, leaving the victims shells of their former selves, the Centers are an ugly vestige of the Psy race’s Silent past. But this Center was worse. Far, far worse. And now Theo must uncover the awful truth—in the company of a scowling bear named Yakov, who isn’t about to take a Marshall at face value . . . especially a Marshall who has turned his dreams into chilling nightmares

Because Yakov is the great-grandson of a foreseer . . . and he has seen Theo die in an unstoppable surge of blood. Night after night after night . . .
I mentioned in my Sunday post that I returned to school and literally have only been re-reading this series. I have favorite characters and so many side characters that I can’t wait until she writes their stories. I have loved this series from the beginning and this installation is no different. The world we are now in, is the post-Council world and the different races are working to save not just themselves but to come back from the brink the Psy have brought their people to. Once again the horrors of what was done to keep the few alive is finally being shared with the world. And it's a horror show.

Theo has spent her life fighting to survive the family she was brought up into, had she not been linked to her twin brother Pax the more powerful Psy she wouldn’t be here. Pavel a Stonewater Bear has some of the Psy talent he's inherited from his Grandfather which has given him dreams since his childhood and they all star Theo. Theo has come to Russia to find out just how far and deep into the Council structure did her Grandfather go, and how much is her family truly liable for what happened to the broken Psy who didn't meet the exacting standards of the Council & why was her name on partially deleted files?

The dance, the way the story is woven together, I was absorbed from the start, I loved seeing Arwen and the glimpses of the family including Silver and Valentin, There is so much in the story ad so much more we need. I absolutely loved the little sprinkling of intrigue we got at the club, I can’t wait to see more. I loved how they talked about the unique earthquakes (IYKYK) in the area.

These stories have been my comfort zone in the crazy world we live in currently and I can’t stop reading. There are a few moments where I had to stop and breathe because if I could jump into the book to go after some people, baby gear up. I would definably bring tissues, and be prepared as there are some triggering subject matter in the form of flashbacks. The fact that these people think they are the best of the best and not realizing that the very definition of a perfect Psy was a psychopath. So many people hurt because the Council lied and so many more in danger because the Scarab Queen would rather seize power than save their race. I can’t wait to see how this all comes out.

The way she ended the story I’m going to be annoyed for a whole year until we get the next installation because why??!!!!! I need it now!!! There were so many beautiful moments that made the book amazing to read, and I can’t wait to get my physical copy to display on my shelves. I will also be listening to the audiobook version because Angela Dawe has a way of narrating the story that is just so amazing, they bring the story to life. 

Have you read this series yet my loves?? I picked it up because every time without fail whenever Sylvia Day is asked what books she recommends she always says Nalini, and I can say I have never enjoyed a recommendation more.

Series In Order
Series in Order (While you can read the books as standalones, the story is vastly enriched by reading in order, as there are subplots and nuances you may not get without the full backstory)   

Psy Changeling Series 

  1. Slave to Sensation 
  2. Visions of Heat 
  3. Caressed by Ice 
  4. Mine to Possess 
  5. Hostage to Pleasure 
  6. Branded by Fire 
  7. Blaze of Memory 
  8. Bonds of Justice 
  9. Play of Passion 
  10. Kiss of snow 
  11. Tangle of Need 
  12. Heart of Obsidian 
  13. Sheild of Winter 
  14. Shards of Hope 
  15. Allegiance of Honor 

Trinity Series: 

  1.  Silver Silence 
  2. Ocean Light 
  3. Wolf rain 
  4. Alpha Night 
  5. Last Guard 
  6. Storm Echo 
  7. Resonance Surge 
  • Nalini Singh’s  Guild Hunter Series 

  • Lora Leigh’s Breeds Series 

If you can't tell I highly recommend, this book, the series and most of Nalini's work (the one's I've read so far are good) Have you read the series?? Let me know what  you thing, and of course if you have other recommendations, don't forget to drop them in the comments.

Happy Reading my loves, 

No comments:

Post a Comment