Thursday, September 20, 2018

ARC Book #Review: American Asshole by Tara Sue Me .@tarasueme

Book Title:  American Asshole (Bachelor International 1)
Author:  Tara Sue Me |WebsiteTwitterFacebook|
Publisher: After Six Publishing
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series/Standalone:  Series Book 1
Format: ebook
Cost: $3.99
Pages: 238
How I got it: Blog Tour Company
Purchase: Amazon | Amazon UK|
Publication Date: Sept 17, 2018
Add To Goodreads
Synopsis:
He’s a self proclaimed bastard with a double helping of lying asshole.

From the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the acclaimed SUBMISSIVE Series comes the first book in a new series perfect for fans of Helena Hunting and Maya Banks.

Mia Matthews never thought much of big shot matchmaker Tenor Butler, but when she finds out he loaned her late business partner a quarter of a million dollars and no one told her, there aren’t enough four letter words to describe him. She’d like nothing more than to pretend Tenor doesn’t exist, but she owes him all that money, not to mention he’s hot as hell.

Tenor doesn’t see why it’s his fault Mia didn’t know about the loan. In fact, he thinks he’s being very magnanimous when he offers to forgive the loan if Mia closes her own matchmaking business and works for him for five years. But as he gets closer to Mia, he realizes two things: 1) he doesn’t want her as an employee and 2) she hates his guts.

When an old flame threatens them both, Mia and Tenor find themselves working together and are unable to ignore their mutual attraction. But it might be too late for these two romance experts to create their own love story.

This is a standalone romance. No cliffhanger.
Giveaway



I happily signed up for this blog tour because I read and loved Tara's previous work the Submissives series (when it was a trilogy, now it's expanded and I'm so behind on reading it). I fell in love with her writing and couldn't wait to dive into this one. I wanted a romance with a bad boy character with a redemptive arc and hot steamy times.

Going into the book was purely based on the author's previous work and the title. Yeah, didn't quite work out for me. Really because despite what the description says, Tenor wasn't really much of an asshole. He's actually a good guy and most of the perception of him being an asshole came from Mia's preconceived notions before she's even really talked to him.  They both own successful matchmaking businesses and they have different approaches which makes Mia think that Tenor is in only for the money.  Tenor knows about Mia and her dislike for him but he admires what she and her mother have managed to build, and when given the opportunity to aide them he does.  Little does he know this will come back to bite him in the rear.

Mia's business partner, her mother passes away along with a long time friend in a tragic accident. To compound the pain she discovers that turning the business side of things over to her mother may not have been the best choice. As she's trying to pick up the pieces she discovers just how deep in the hole they are.  And when given the opportunity to dig herself out, she would rather dance naked in the middle of times square during New Year's Eve, She absolutely despises Tenor, mostly because she dislikes how he does things and yet his matchmaking business was outpacing hers.

The two are thrown together and have to work out their issues if they wish to make their new venture a success. While trying to expand on the venture they take a trip that complicates their relationship because it brings drama, an ex who is truly terrible and brings back up feelings they both thought had been worked past.  Insert overly concerned friends who complicate matters, even more, a misunderstanding that could be solved with a phone call and you have a mess of things.

I have to personally say that on paper this book should have been my jam. But I don't know the execution just wasn't there for me. I didn't like it as much as I hoped. It's a cute story, but it didn't grip me the way I wanted it to. I mean that Prologue scene alone had me diving in dying to know how they got there and then no just lukewarm.  Not for me. I might check out the other books just to see if it was just the first book was too short or what.

They both had best friends that gave pretty good advice in the case of Mia yet her best friend wouldn't share what happened to change her life so drastically (at least not until the end).  Even though there isn't a cliffhanger the little tidbit she shared makes me think the next story is going to be her best friend's story and wouldn't that be fun?? I also want his best friends' story because what would drive someone to be that much of a jerk?? Now he totally deserved the title of a*hole.
 ★★★☆
I recommend this if the enemies to lovers trope is one of your favorites, and you're looking for a good contemporary read.  While it may not be for me, it could be exactly what you need. Happy Reading, my loves

No comments:

Post a Comment